Day Forty-Five – Feeling happiness

My marriage and my relationship with my husband was one of the main reasons I started this journey. We just aren’t in the place I’d like us to be. There are so many stressful parts of life and I don’t want my chosen family to ever be described that way. Our troubles stem from the little things that build up over years, so it will take time to undo, but we both know that this is our chance to make it better before it gets so bad it’s unfixable.

Our story is one of true love… we’ve been together since we were 16 (ok, I was 17 and he was 16) and our bond with one another and loyalty to each other has never wavered. However, after 13+ years, we truly did begin to take our relationship and each other for granted. No need to get into the nitty gritty details, but we sat down for a heart-to-heart the other night and I told him what I really needed from our relationship to be happy. This is something I’ve tried the subtle approach with or the do as wish and they will follow method. My plea was simple, he was the one who brought out the loving affectionate side of me to begin with, so I need him to help me find that girl again.

After a week of some amazing efforts on his part, I truly feel a happiness beginning to paint my daily life. My heart feels more full, I feel like singing, my head is filled with loving thoughts about him, and this happy spontaneous love is spilling over into my relationship with our son. It is absolutely wonderful so far. The most useful advice I’ve read so far, and which we are trying to put to action is: Make sure your spouse/partner always comes first, your children will get more from that then if they are put first.

I sincerely hope that this is our road to happiness as we lay one brick of love at a time. Our 5 year wedding anniversary is in a few months and I’m starting to get excited about possible plans.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

